Depends on who you ask…

How has technology changed your job?

Management thinks it is great. Can I point out that management already knew nothing about the vault beyond how to count the money and check the final numbers match. So I don’t think their opinion is very valid.

If you ask my and my two co-horts, we will say it depends on whether 1. The cash machine is working and 2. If management is staying out of our jobs that they don’t understand how to do. (They have all said they have no idea how to do our job.)

When the cash machine is working, it’s fine. It’s not any easier, really, because the cash machine technology does not talk to my works technology, so I am basically a gopher between two machines.

When management tries to tell us how to do our job without understanding behind it, it makes it harder because they just say what the manual says should work. But since our systems do not talk to each other, it does not work that way. We basically ignore them and continue to do it the same way. When we were doing it the way they wanted, our safe was always off. When I changed things around, we were rarely, if ever, off. And when we are, it’s normally a system issue, not an us issue.

Technology, when utilized correctly, is an amazing thing. When used the way my job has, it’s more annoying than anything else. Kitt ☺️


2 responses to “Depends on who you ask…”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started